top of page

Meet the "Scrimpers" - Jen


I'm joined by Jen from couponcatuk today. She's a very inspirational women who despite being diagnosed with MS still loves money saving activities. I'm very excited to talk to her today!

Hello Jen and thank you for joining me on The Frugal Teen for a Q&A session!

Everyone has their different reasons for wanting to save money. What made you start saving money?

I've always enjoyed finding a bargain and when I discovered there were all these different ways to save money, I thought I'd give it a go.

Awesome and have you had many successes? What are your two best ones?

One of my greatest achievements is being asked to run a professional money saving company's Instagram account! I was very flattered to learn that they had been looking at my account for a few months and really liked how I did things. Unfortunately I had to turn it down (even though it would have been a paid role) because it's important for me to balance my full time job (I'm an L&D Trainer) with my home life (which includes having fun with money saving in my spare time - as and when I'm able to). My second I answer in question 4 : )

I love how you seem to have so much fun with saving money. What's your favourite part about it?

Making a difference to other people is probably the best thing. In fact, I'd say that my second proudest achievement would be a message back in December 2015 from penniestopounds.

It really did confirm to me why I do this - for me it's all about sharing tips and hints so other people can take advantage of the savings too.

Aw what a lovely message! Could perhaps share one of your tips with us?

There are some great Instagram accounts to follow which can alert you to some fab deals - I'd recommend alditoharrods, savvykittie, felis_freebies (see her interview here) penniestopounds, soozes_universe, sajul01, thriftymum, frugalqueen to name but a few! Wow what a shoutout. Would you say that social media is an effective way of money saving then?

I think what people find effective is very personal to the individual. For me, I always save money by trying to find the best possible price for anything I need to buy. Furthermore, I will make a big effort to make do with what I have available to me so that way I can avoid spending at all! E.g. I'll see whether I can make something out of what food I have in the house before even considering to buy lunch. I save a lot this way.

What has your frugal lifestyle enabled you to do that previously wouldn't have been possible?

Because of my hobby, I've been able to connect and make friends with fellow money savers online - I love our little community!

That's great! Last question for our readers: how long do you spend collecting coupons or emailing companies etc.?

I used to spend much longer, but since I was diagnosed with MS last year, I had to re-think how I use my time and energy. I still thoroughly enjoy it, but have had to scale things back a bit.

Thank you for joining me today Jen, it's been lovely meeting you!


FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle

RECENT POSTS: 

- The ultimate 350 euro side hustle 

(February 19th)

- Instagram accounts you should follow

(February 16th)

- The book and at lovers' guide to Valentines

(February 14th)

- 6 ways to save on your broadband

(February 11th)

​- REVIEW: Foam Museum Amsterdam

(February 9th)

- Best budget restaurant in Amsterdam

(February 4th)

 

- FAQ about Zeek and free £5!

(February 4th)

 

- Introducing Frugal Game Reviews!

(January 28th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Aimee

(January 24th)

- Best Psychological tip for saving money

(January 14th)

- Frugal Cleaning Supplies

(January 11th)

- Money Saving Challenges for 2017

(January 4th)

- Christmas card crafts

(December 27th)

- Claim £540 on delayed flights

(December 7th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Darren

(November 19th)

 

- 5 ways to save on transport

(November 18th)

 

- Beauty on a Budget

(November 15th)

- Christmas Wishlist

(November 12th)

- Makeup I live by 

(October 28th)

- Netflix and chill no more

(September 27th)

- Free, legal movie sites

(September 27th)

- Indeals

(September 14th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Adam

(August 27th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Katie

(August 22nd)

-Essential uni checklist Pt2

(August 12th)

-Essential uni checklist Pt1

(August 11th)

-Meet the Scrimpers- Michelle

(August 10th)

-Free cinema tickets

(August 5th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Jen

(August 4th)

-Saving the environment and the bank

(July 31st)

-How to balance being socialble and frugal

(July 17th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Felicia

(July 17th)

-Positivity in a pack

(July 12th)

-Wombling- turning paper into cash

(July 9th)

-Newbie guide to chasback apps

(July 9th)

-Product testing for real

(June 28th)

-Topcashback giveaway

(January 25th)

-The ever-lasting christmas cards

(January 25th)

-Garnier Handcream Review

(January 7th)

-When to find th best sales

(November 26th)

-Graze Box Review

(November 25th)

-Get inventive, with what?

(November 15th)

-Undervalued job ideas

(October 9th)

 

-Give your food some "TLC"

(September 29th)

 

-One for the guys...

(September 23rd)

 

-15 signs you're frugal

(September 18th)

 

-Go on holiday for less!

(September 13th)

 

- Become a Freebie Hunter

(August 27th)

 

- Treat Yourself on your special day

(August 21st)

 

-Earn by selling textbooks

(August 20th)

 

-Top Textbook Tips

(August 4th)

 

-In the Beginning

(August 3rd)

bottom of page