top of page

Meet the Scrimpers- Aimee

Hello everyone!

I must say, after talking to her for a while I have to say what an admirable woman she is! She has a lot on her plate but still makes an enormous effort to help others with their money saving.

It's true that we often don't know about the people behind the pages so I hope after this interview you'll appreciate her page even more!

Thank you for joining me today Aimee.

Q1. Tell us a little bit about yourself and your family

My name is Aimee and I am married to Kev. We have 3 boys: Issac (8), Dexter (6) and Bertie (20 months). We live in Scarborough.

Issac has autism, Dexter has albinism (as does Bertie), nystagmus, astigmatism and hypermobility syndrome, as well as being registered blind and he has a brain cyst. Bertie is also visually impaired but not as bad as Dexter.

Q2. Is there any particular reason why you started saving money?

I started couponing and using cashback apps for a few reasons.

I had to stop working due to the stress it was causing my then 5yr old son. As he has autism, he struggles to cope with certain people or situations so we thought it best for him.

We also need to do some remodeling work to our house due to our middle son being registered blind and having mobility issues.

These two ways initially seemed to be the only ways that I could save money.

Q3. Why is money saving so important to you?

Money itself isn't important but it's the changes that it will make to my children that is important. They will be comfier and able to access other rooms in their home as a result of me saving.

Q4. What's your most effective way of spending money?

I think about a purchase before I buy it and don't buy something that I won't use.

Q5. Any other tips (asides from cashback etc.)

I always research everything before I buy it. I don't think that I have paid full price for anything in the last 3 years other than diesel for our car which we also get discount coupons for from Sainsburys (so even that doesn't really count, lol)

Q6. Have you bought yourself something/an experience which before your money saving venture wouldn't have been possible?

Not yet as all our money is being saved up for the removal of some of the walls in our house as to make access easier for Dexter and Bertie.

Q7. What were the thoughts behind setting up your Facebook page?

I started Extreme Couponing and Cash Back UK because lots of my friends and family kept asking me to show them how I save and to post pictures of the offers etc. So i thought that it would be easier to do it all in one place so I started the page.

Q8. Do you have any particular achievements you're proud of?

I think that my achievements are having such amazing family and friends. My children are my world and yes some days are a struggle with lots of hospital appointments but I would not change them for the world.

Q9. What are your goals for 2017?

My goals for 2017 are to save up enough so that I can have the work done on my house in 2018 (as there is no chance of it happening any sooner unfortunately).

My page has reached 20,000 in its first year and it would be great if it hit 40,000 in its second year as it would mean helping all these great people to save money on their shopping!

Thank you for your time Aimee, I hope you achieve your goals!


FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle

RECENT POSTS: 

- The ultimate 350 euro side hustle 

(February 19th)

- Instagram accounts you should follow

(February 16th)

- The book and at lovers' guide to Valentines

(February 14th)

- 6 ways to save on your broadband

(February 11th)

​- REVIEW: Foam Museum Amsterdam

(February 9th)

- Best budget restaurant in Amsterdam

(February 4th)

 

- FAQ about Zeek and free £5!

(February 4th)

 

- Introducing Frugal Game Reviews!

(January 28th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Aimee

(January 24th)

- Best Psychological tip for saving money

(January 14th)

- Frugal Cleaning Supplies

(January 11th)

- Money Saving Challenges for 2017

(January 4th)

- Christmas card crafts

(December 27th)

- Claim £540 on delayed flights

(December 7th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Darren

(November 19th)

 

- 5 ways to save on transport

(November 18th)

 

- Beauty on a Budget

(November 15th)

- Christmas Wishlist

(November 12th)

- Makeup I live by 

(October 28th)

- Netflix and chill no more

(September 27th)

- Free, legal movie sites

(September 27th)

- Indeals

(September 14th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Adam

(August 27th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Katie

(August 22nd)

-Essential uni checklist Pt2

(August 12th)

-Essential uni checklist Pt1

(August 11th)

-Meet the Scrimpers- Michelle

(August 10th)

-Free cinema tickets

(August 5th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Jen

(August 4th)

-Saving the environment and the bank

(July 31st)

-How to balance being socialble and frugal

(July 17th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Felicia

(July 17th)

-Positivity in a pack

(July 12th)

-Wombling- turning paper into cash

(July 9th)

-Newbie guide to chasback apps

(July 9th)

-Product testing for real

(June 28th)

-Topcashback giveaway

(January 25th)

-The ever-lasting christmas cards

(January 25th)

-Garnier Handcream Review

(January 7th)

-When to find th best sales

(November 26th)

-Graze Box Review

(November 25th)

-Get inventive, with what?

(November 15th)

-Undervalued job ideas

(October 9th)

 

-Give your food some "TLC"

(September 29th)

 

-One for the guys...

(September 23rd)

 

-15 signs you're frugal

(September 18th)

 

-Go on holiday for less!

(September 13th)

 

- Become a Freebie Hunter

(August 27th)

 

- Treat Yourself on your special day

(August 21st)

 

-Earn by selling textbooks

(August 20th)

 

-Top Textbook Tips

(August 4th)

 

-In the Beginning

(August 3rd)

bottom of page