top of page

Meet the Scrimpers- Adam


Today I'm interviewing Adam. Adam hasn't got any Instagram page or blog or money saving dedicated page, but I thought this was important as it shows that anybody can save money, not just those who advise people or share links.

Adam has an impressive stockpile (which I'm jealous of) so I hope we'll learn some new tips today!

Hi Adam, thanks for joining me today!

May I ask what made you start money saving?

I started saving money by couponing while I was out of work and after watching the American show "Extreme Couponing." I knew that every penny counted.

It does indeed, and has it helped? Has it impacted your life positively?

As my stockpile grows, I'm seeing more of the benefits now than ever before. I'm currently trying to live off what I already have and only buying what is necessary.

From saving money, I'm able to buy products I previously would've considered too expensive, which also means trying new things which is always a bonus.

It's important to note that saving money isn't just restricted to grocery shopping or supermarkets. It's possible to save money on electrical items too, which I have done.

That's very true! Do your electrical items include some of your best achievements?

Well my recent achievement is this shop:

My cheapest one yet! Retail Price: £63.91 but I paid only £7.95, my goal was under £15 so I'm pleased. I won £15 from a Butterkist competition and made £7.05 from a big DL scratch card profit, my shop also included two free Coke Zeros, 8 popcorn for 50 p each and 7 bags of pilgrims cheese for £1.75.

I've also seen pictures of your stockpile. Could you tell us more about it?

I'm also very proud of that, when I think of how much I've saved, it definitely makes me smile, it's about 80% less of the original retail price. It also helps my family and friends so win-win all around.

My best buys include 12 peperami minis with the retail price of £2.50 each but I got them for only 25p each, Pilgrims Choice Cheese retail price £2 but only paid 24p each... I love those big savings.

Here's some other pictures from the stockpile in my kitchen:

Oh wow that's impressive! How did you get all these? Any particular method you prefer?

Of course I use cashback and coupons but try not to use these alone. By this I mean that I'll always try and combine it with a deal.

E.g. Peperami £2.50, reduced to £1.250 and then £1.25 cashback. This is what I did with these Schwartz products. Paid 20p for all of them:

(If you're lucky (and it has happened before) you can sometimes be paid for buying these products)!

Another thing I do, which is super useful, is to know the right time to shop ie. when the supermarket reduces items or puts clearance items out. There are many ways to preserve these items which are out of date so they don't go to waste. I make jam with the fruit or pickles or bleach and freeze items too. They are plenty of uses for these "out of date" items to make them last longer.

Great tip, thank you! Any others that you could spare us?

Complain, or compliment, if you have a reason to. I've received gift cards and vouchers for various reasons after contacting companies: being asked for ID on non-alcoholic beer, discounts not working or problems at the till....

There's always items you will need that you cannot get coupons and cashback on so contact companies to see if they can help and when they are on offer, STOCK UP!

I get my best coupons from Food Shows so always try and go if you can!

E.g. the Pilgrims Choice coupons

Last question: how long do you spend gathering coupons etc.?

I spend a few hours a week which isn't much. I first started writing to manufacturers last year, 14 different manufacturers and got nothing. Then after some advice from fellow Facebook couponers I did much better, it's much easier, quicker and more effective now. I must thank Total Couponery and Coupon Clippers for their pages because thanks to them, it's easy to know when know coupons and freebies are available! So thank you.

Lovely shout out, thank you so much for joining me Adam!

Hope this was useful to you all

The Frugal Teen


FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle

RECENT POSTS: 

- The ultimate 350 euro side hustle 

(February 19th)

- Instagram accounts you should follow

(February 16th)

- The book and at lovers' guide to Valentines

(February 14th)

- 6 ways to save on your broadband

(February 11th)

​- REVIEW: Foam Museum Amsterdam

(February 9th)

- Best budget restaurant in Amsterdam

(February 4th)

 

- FAQ about Zeek and free £5!

(February 4th)

 

- Introducing Frugal Game Reviews!

(January 28th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Aimee

(January 24th)

- Best Psychological tip for saving money

(January 14th)

- Frugal Cleaning Supplies

(January 11th)

- Money Saving Challenges for 2017

(January 4th)

- Christmas card crafts

(December 27th)

- Claim £540 on delayed flights

(December 7th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Darren

(November 19th)

 

- 5 ways to save on transport

(November 18th)

 

- Beauty on a Budget

(November 15th)

- Christmas Wishlist

(November 12th)

- Makeup I live by 

(October 28th)

- Netflix and chill no more

(September 27th)

- Free, legal movie sites

(September 27th)

- Indeals

(September 14th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Adam

(August 27th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Katie

(August 22nd)

-Essential uni checklist Pt2

(August 12th)

-Essential uni checklist Pt1

(August 11th)

-Meet the Scrimpers- Michelle

(August 10th)

-Free cinema tickets

(August 5th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Jen

(August 4th)

-Saving the environment and the bank

(July 31st)

-How to balance being socialble and frugal

(July 17th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Felicia

(July 17th)

-Positivity in a pack

(July 12th)

-Wombling- turning paper into cash

(July 9th)

-Newbie guide to chasback apps

(July 9th)

-Product testing for real

(June 28th)

-Topcashback giveaway

(January 25th)

-The ever-lasting christmas cards

(January 25th)

-Garnier Handcream Review

(January 7th)

-When to find th best sales

(November 26th)

-Graze Box Review

(November 25th)

-Get inventive, with what?

(November 15th)

-Undervalued job ideas

(October 9th)

 

-Give your food some "TLC"

(September 29th)

 

-One for the guys...

(September 23rd)

 

-15 signs you're frugal

(September 18th)

 

-Go on holiday for less!

(September 13th)

 

- Become a Freebie Hunter

(August 27th)

 

- Treat Yourself on your special day

(August 21st)

 

-Earn by selling textbooks

(August 20th)

 

-Top Textbook Tips

(August 4th)

 

-In the Beginning

(August 3rd)

bottom of page