top of page

Meet the Scrimpers- Katie

I'm sure that if you're on Instagram and you follow fellow couponers and people with frugal lifestyles you will have heard, or seen posts by freebielover101.

The mastermind behind this account is Katie! She loves collecting freebies and making the most of magazine offers, her collection is very impressive and looking at her weekly collection pictures, obviously has a talent for it.

Let's see if we can learn a thing or two!

Hi Katie, thanks for taking the time to join me for this Q&A session!

As I have asked most people, as everybody's answer is different, what made you start saving money?

I guess seeing the benefits made me want to start saving money, especially as it means that more money can be spent on items that you couldn't buy beforehand.

Could you describe to us what new things it's enabled you to do, or maybe how it has impacted your life?

It's definitely impacted my life positively to say the least. As weird as it sounds, it has also given me more confidence. In the past it has made me feel awkward as going up to the counter and asking for samples can be unsuccessful and embarrassing, but the more I've ask and I've done it, the more my confidence builds.

Money saving has definitely made me more aware of the value of money and reinforcing the "if you don't ask, you don't get" idea.

Coupons have also had an amazing effect on my life as I've been getting into them more and more. So much free food is often available which means more money to be spent on trips out and experiences!

Do you think you're the only beneficiary from your hobby?

No. I don't own a dog or cat but I love claiming free food, coupons and any hiring sent in the post as I love donating them whenever I go into Morrisons, Tesco or Pets at Home; it's an amazing feeling!

Aw that's amazing! Would you say that's your greatest money saving achievement?

Of course I'm proud of that, but my greatest money saving achievement must be when I managed to buy Christmas presents for all my friends and family for under £8! I even managed to buy for 50p a make-your-own bear kit! That was definitely my favourite.

Awesome! Now, tell us you're secret. How do you get all those freebies that we see on your Instagram?

The freebies on my Instagram come from a variety of sources. Some are from freebie accounts when they mention So-post offers that I haven't found yet, free stuff websites (I normally Google that and browse through all the searches) and instore claims (ie. when I ask at counters) which are my favourite!

I also always email companies as this can be a freebie gathering method and money-saver combined! In the past, I've been sent a range of coupons or coupons to try products for free!

That sounds good, have you found that there are particular shops or companies that are especially generous?

Yes, I've found that loyalty cards are always a practical way to get freebies. For example with Boots, Body Shop, Debenhams and John Lewis- you can get freebies for just signing up!

A company that I've emailed and had a great success with (but don't go harassing them with compliments or complaints if they're not genuine) is the Collective Yoghurt Company. They sent out coupons for me to try their products free as well as money-off coupons, they sent a handwritten letter and a fridge magnet!

They really knew how to cheer me up, as well as the 4 Body Shop nail varnishes I managed to get for free and quite a lot of great freebies from Buzz Agent and Tesco Orchard as well!

Thanks for the heads up! Do you have any last minute money saving tips?

Only buy what you need, if not donate to charity or don't get it at all. A great way to avoid buying more than you need is maybe making an account where you post your everyday empties or just keeping track of them all. This way you will be more determined to use them before spending money on new ones. This way, that money could be saved for the future.

Thank you so much for joining me today Katie :)

For all the readers, I hope you've learnt some new money saving tips, and be sure to check out freebielover101 on Instagram!


FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle

RECENT POSTS: 

- The ultimate 350 euro side hustle 

(February 19th)

- Instagram accounts you should follow

(February 16th)

- The book and at lovers' guide to Valentines

(February 14th)

- 6 ways to save on your broadband

(February 11th)

​- REVIEW: Foam Museum Amsterdam

(February 9th)

- Best budget restaurant in Amsterdam

(February 4th)

 

- FAQ about Zeek and free £5!

(February 4th)

 

- Introducing Frugal Game Reviews!

(January 28th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Aimee

(January 24th)

- Best Psychological tip for saving money

(January 14th)

- Frugal Cleaning Supplies

(January 11th)

- Money Saving Challenges for 2017

(January 4th)

- Christmas card crafts

(December 27th)

- Claim £540 on delayed flights

(December 7th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Darren

(November 19th)

 

- 5 ways to save on transport

(November 18th)

 

- Beauty on a Budget

(November 15th)

- Christmas Wishlist

(November 12th)

- Makeup I live by 

(October 28th)

- Netflix and chill no more

(September 27th)

- Free, legal movie sites

(September 27th)

- Indeals

(September 14th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Adam

(August 27th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Katie

(August 22nd)

-Essential uni checklist Pt2

(August 12th)

-Essential uni checklist Pt1

(August 11th)

-Meet the Scrimpers- Michelle

(August 10th)

-Free cinema tickets

(August 5th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Jen

(August 4th)

-Saving the environment and the bank

(July 31st)

-How to balance being socialble and frugal

(July 17th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Felicia

(July 17th)

-Positivity in a pack

(July 12th)

-Wombling- turning paper into cash

(July 9th)

-Newbie guide to chasback apps

(July 9th)

-Product testing for real

(June 28th)

-Topcashback giveaway

(January 25th)

-The ever-lasting christmas cards

(January 25th)

-Garnier Handcream Review

(January 7th)

-When to find th best sales

(November 26th)

-Graze Box Review

(November 25th)

-Get inventive, with what?

(November 15th)

-Undervalued job ideas

(October 9th)

 

-Give your food some "TLC"

(September 29th)

 

-One for the guys...

(September 23rd)

 

-15 signs you're frugal

(September 18th)

 

-Go on holiday for less!

(September 13th)

 

- Become a Freebie Hunter

(August 27th)

 

- Treat Yourself on your special day

(August 21st)

 

-Earn by selling textbooks

(August 20th)

 

-Top Textbook Tips

(August 4th)

 

-In the Beginning

(August 3rd)

bottom of page