top of page

Beauty on a Budget

Hello everyone!

Enjoy! x

The Frugal Teen

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi everyone! I am so glad to be writing this guest post for The Frugal Teen, it's one of my firsts so I hope you enjoy!

If you find yourself on this post you know that makeup can be a struggle to keep up with. Trends coming out here and there or new efficient products and they all have one thing in common- prices that make you wanna just buy it without looking.

Around last year I joined Urban Decay Naked Palette hype, but before I could give in and just swipe my card I knew I had to do some research because $54.00 for only 12 shades seemed a bit ridiculous to me.

I hopped onto my computer and did some research and discovered the world of makeup dupes! Surprisingly, a lot more people than I expected are against buying off-brands or drugstore brands because it doesn't show off as well as buying name brands like Benefit Cosmetics, Urban Decay or Tarte Cosmetics, when if anything I'd show it off more because it's like "I spent half as much as you did and got the same thing...."

who wouldn't want that? My new motto became: get the best, for the least.

After much research and deep into Youtube reviews I found my first dupe brand, Coastal Scents. They have amazing products but one of their most well known one is their eyeshadow palette "Revealed" which as you can probably tell by the play on words in the name it is a dupe for the Naked Palette.

It retails for $29.95 (it's on sale right now for $19.99!!) but it is SO worth it, even better than the Naked Palette because

1. The color payoff is UNREAL

2. No fall out whatsoever

3. You get 20 shadows

Basically, you save $20 and get 8 more shadows for the same quality!

Their site also has other great quality makeup products for a lesser price, they are definitely one of my favorite go-to brands when you don't wanna splurge on makeup.

Another dupe I am obsessed with is one for Benefit Cosmetic's Porefessional. I've heard so many great things about the Porefessional Primer and I so desperately wanted to try it out. I got onto the site and saw that it was $31.00 for a 22.0 mL product, I was kind of taken aback. You know that gut feeling when you really want something and you know that it's unrealistic? Yeah.. that.

Luckily drugstore brands came to the rescue! The Pore Filler Primer by NYX- $13.99 for a 20 mL product. I've read so many reviews before buying it and people see no difference when they use Benefit's primer and NYX's primer so you KNOW it is a steal.

Those are just some of the dupes that I have found since I ventured onto the makeup world, check out my blog for more beauty/fashion/lifestyle posts, and I am actually considering turning this into a series so definitely stay tuned!


FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle

RECENT POSTS: 

- The ultimate 350 euro side hustle 

(February 19th)

- Instagram accounts you should follow

(February 16th)

- The book and at lovers' guide to Valentines

(February 14th)

- 6 ways to save on your broadband

(February 11th)

​- REVIEW: Foam Museum Amsterdam

(February 9th)

- Best budget restaurant in Amsterdam

(February 4th)

 

- FAQ about Zeek and free £5!

(February 4th)

 

- Introducing Frugal Game Reviews!

(January 28th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Aimee

(January 24th)

- Best Psychological tip for saving money

(January 14th)

- Frugal Cleaning Supplies

(January 11th)

- Money Saving Challenges for 2017

(January 4th)

- Christmas card crafts

(December 27th)

- Claim £540 on delayed flights

(December 7th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Darren

(November 19th)

 

- 5 ways to save on transport

(November 18th)

 

- Beauty on a Budget

(November 15th)

- Christmas Wishlist

(November 12th)

- Makeup I live by 

(October 28th)

- Netflix and chill no more

(September 27th)

- Free, legal movie sites

(September 27th)

- Indeals

(September 14th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Adam

(August 27th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Katie

(August 22nd)

-Essential uni checklist Pt2

(August 12th)

-Essential uni checklist Pt1

(August 11th)

-Meet the Scrimpers- Michelle

(August 10th)

-Free cinema tickets

(August 5th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Jen

(August 4th)

-Saving the environment and the bank

(July 31st)

-How to balance being socialble and frugal

(July 17th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Felicia

(July 17th)

-Positivity in a pack

(July 12th)

-Wombling- turning paper into cash

(July 9th)

-Newbie guide to chasback apps

(July 9th)

-Product testing for real

(June 28th)

-Topcashback giveaway

(January 25th)

-The ever-lasting christmas cards

(January 25th)

-Garnier Handcream Review

(January 7th)

-When to find th best sales

(November 26th)

-Graze Box Review

(November 25th)

-Get inventive, with what?

(November 15th)

-Undervalued job ideas

(October 9th)

 

-Give your food some "TLC"

(September 29th)

 

-One for the guys...

(September 23rd)

 

-15 signs you're frugal

(September 18th)

 

-Go on holiday for less!

(September 13th)

 

- Become a Freebie Hunter

(August 27th)

 

- Treat Yourself on your special day

(August 21st)

 

-Earn by selling textbooks

(August 20th)

 

-Top Textbook Tips

(August 4th)

 

-In the Beginning

(August 3rd)

bottom of page