top of page

Christmas card crafts

So all my family and friends know I'm quite the hoarder. December or Christmas time is no difference. Every year I add to my collection of cards and look through all the ones I have, some as early as year 2 or 1 where my fellow pupils wrote my name as Analiyse rather than Annelies etc.

Those cards with particularly nice designs or impersonal messages I like to cut up. I'll cut off the front, and perhaps the printed message of "Merry Christmas" inside and perhaps a picture (if applicable) on the back.

This blog post is going to be some things I do with them every year to save money but also let my creative side out and change a bit from essay writing!

1. Bookmarks

You can either make your own bookmarks out of paper and then cut little pictures out from your cards or do what I did in the picture below which is to cut a card out directly into bookmark shapes. If the Christmas card isn't very thick then you can easily add some cardboard behind it or another strip of Christmas card to the back.

2. Present tags

This is easy to do. My dad had some spare from his business which I used for a quick (and I mean quick) model. I cut out a simplistic white card for this model so I could cut around the shapes quickly and the background would camouflage with the white tag.

I have seen some that again, cut directly from the card so they are flexible in the shapes they make.

3. To:.... From:......

Every year I receive some free stickers from the Red Cross with a little picture and "To: From:" written on them but I find that they don't suffice for the number of presents I have. I use sweet Christmas cards to do these myself (in the past as a child I just used to write my Christmas message on the back but now 18 I can't get away with that) so I use them like this instead:

4. Jar toppers

Although I haven't made anything jar related this year this is always a nice thing to do if you are making something with a jar: body scrub, handmade candle, kids money box etc. It's just a way to remind them it's festive and to make it Christmas related (if the object isn't)!

5. Wrapping paper

Of course this is something rough made by me and my brother in about 10 seconds, but if you were to take your time you could add colour by using paint etc. or stick the card so it was only glued on at the top so if you lift it up (like a flap) you can have a personalised message underneath.

Hope you enjoyed this post and that you can make use of your new collection of Christmas cards for next year! Remember I did this super quickly but if taking the time will get you some gorgeous results and save you money... what's to lose?

The Frugal Teen


FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle

RECENT POSTS: 

- The ultimate 350 euro side hustle 

(February 19th)

- Instagram accounts you should follow

(February 16th)

- The book and at lovers' guide to Valentines

(February 14th)

- 6 ways to save on your broadband

(February 11th)

​- REVIEW: Foam Museum Amsterdam

(February 9th)

- Best budget restaurant in Amsterdam

(February 4th)

 

- FAQ about Zeek and free £5!

(February 4th)

 

- Introducing Frugal Game Reviews!

(January 28th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Aimee

(January 24th)

- Best Psychological tip for saving money

(January 14th)

- Frugal Cleaning Supplies

(January 11th)

- Money Saving Challenges for 2017

(January 4th)

- Christmas card crafts

(December 27th)

- Claim £540 on delayed flights

(December 7th)

- Meet the Scrimpers- Darren

(November 19th)

 

- 5 ways to save on transport

(November 18th)

 

- Beauty on a Budget

(November 15th)

- Christmas Wishlist

(November 12th)

- Makeup I live by 

(October 28th)

- Netflix and chill no more

(September 27th)

- Free, legal movie sites

(September 27th)

- Indeals

(September 14th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Adam

(August 27th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Katie

(August 22nd)

-Essential uni checklist Pt2

(August 12th)

-Essential uni checklist Pt1

(August 11th)

-Meet the Scrimpers- Michelle

(August 10th)

-Free cinema tickets

(August 5th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Jen

(August 4th)

-Saving the environment and the bank

(July 31st)

-How to balance being socialble and frugal

(July 17th)

-Meet the Scrimpers-Felicia

(July 17th)

-Positivity in a pack

(July 12th)

-Wombling- turning paper into cash

(July 9th)

-Newbie guide to chasback apps

(July 9th)

-Product testing for real

(June 28th)

-Topcashback giveaway

(January 25th)

-The ever-lasting christmas cards

(January 25th)

-Garnier Handcream Review

(January 7th)

-When to find th best sales

(November 26th)

-Graze Box Review

(November 25th)

-Get inventive, with what?

(November 15th)

-Undervalued job ideas

(October 9th)

 

-Give your food some "TLC"

(September 29th)

 

-One for the guys...

(September 23rd)

 

-15 signs you're frugal

(September 18th)

 

-Go on holiday for less!

(September 13th)

 

- Become a Freebie Hunter

(August 27th)

 

- Treat Yourself on your special day

(August 21st)

 

-Earn by selling textbooks

(August 20th)

 

-Top Textbook Tips

(August 4th)

 

-In the Beginning

(August 3rd)

bottom of page